Is pizza dough vegan? That’s a question that has been perplexing pizza lovers for years. After all, authentic Neapolitan pizza dough is made from flour, water, and yeast, which are all vegan ingredients.
Some recipes may also contain milk, butter or eggs. Which of course are not vegan friendly.
So what’s the verdict? Is pizza dough vegan or not?
In most cases yes, pizza dough is vegan. It does however depend on the recipe and whether or not they use non-vegan friendly ingredients.
If you getting takeaway or store bought pizza, just make sure to the ingredients first.
- The ingredients in Pizza Dough
- Quick Vegan Pizza Dough Recipe
- Quick Vegan Pizza Dough
- 9 Of The Best Vegan Pizza Toppings
- Vegan Pizza Delivery Bases
- Final Thoughts
The ingredients in Pizza Dough
In most cases, pizza dough is made from flour, water, salt and yeast. Some recipes may also add sugar or olive oil.
Flour – The type of flour you use will determine the texture and taste of your pizza dough. For a traditional pizza dough, Italian 00 flour is used. This is a very fine ground flour that produces a light and airy crust. Bread flour can also be used, which will give the dough a little more chewiness. All-purpose flour will work in a pinch, but the crust won’t be as good.
Water – The water should be at room temperature so it doesn’t kill the yeast.
Yeast – For authentic Neapolitan pizza, fresh cake yeast is used. However, most home cooks will use active dry yeast, which is easier to find in stores.
Salt – Just a pinch to help with the flavor.
Sugar – Sugar is sometimes added to pizza dough to feed the yeast and help it grow. However, it’s not necessary and the dough will still rise without it.
Olive Oil – Some recipes call for olive oil to be added to the dough. This is completely optional and is really only used as a way to keep the dough from sticking to your hands while you’re stretching it out.
Is Yeast Vegan?
Yes, yeast is a single-celled organism and is therefore vegan.
Is Pizza Sauce Vegan?
Pizza sauce is usually made from tomatoes, garlic, oregano, and salt. However, some store-bought or restaurant sauces may contain dairy or meat products. Always check the ingredients to be sure.
Does Pizza Dough Contain Butter, Milk or Eggs?
Some recipes for pizza dough may call for milk, butter or eggs. However, these ingredients are not necessary and the dough will still rise without them. If you’re vegan or have an allergy to dairy, eggs or soy, make sure to use a recipe that is dairy-free, egg-free and soy-free.
I’ve written a complete guide on “does pizza dough contain eggs?”
Quick Vegan Pizza Dough Recipe
Below is a very simple and quick vegan pizza dough recipe. As mentioned before, most pizza dough recipes are already vegan, but this one is great if your looking for a basic pizza base thats quick to make.Print
Quick Vegan Pizza Dough
This quick and easy vegan pizza dough takes very little time to make but tastes incredible.
- Prep Time: 1 hour 20 mins
- Total Time: 1 hour 20 mins
- Yield: 8 pizza bases 1x
- 1 kg of strong bread flour or Tipo ’00’ flour
- 14g dried active yeast
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon garlic powder
- 4 tablespoons olive oil
- 650ml lukewarm water
- Place oil, sugar and water into a bowl and give it a stir
- Gently mix in the yeast and leave for a 5-10 minutes (a foam should appear on the top)
- In another bowl place the flour and gentle mix in the salt
- Put a well into the centre of the flour and pour in the yeast mixture
- From the edge bring the flour into the centre and continue to stir with a spoon
- As it comes together, start to mix with your hands. (add flour to hands to prevent sticking)
- Once combined, place into a bowl and cover with a damp towel and leave at room temperature for 60 minutes. (Or until its doubled in size)
- Knead the dough for 5-10 minutes and then divide into equal sized balls.
- Leave to rest for another 30-60 minutes
- Stretch out ready to make your yummy Vegan Pizza.
9 Of The Best Vegan Pizza Toppings
There are many tasty pizza toppings that are vegan friendly, below are some of my favourites.
There are many brands of vegan cheese available these days, so you can still enjoy a cheesy pizza even if you’re vegan.
Vegan pepperoni is a type of pepperoni that is made from plant-based ingredients. It typically contains wheat, rice flour, oil, yeast, salt, and spices. There are many different brands of vegan pepperoni available, so you can easily find one that suits your taste preferences.
Mushrooms are a classic pizza topping that is loved by vegans and non-vegans alike. They can be sliced, diced, or whole and can be cooked in many different ways.
Its just important to make sure they are precooked before they go on the pizza or they can make the pizza base soggy.
Avocado is a healthy and delicious pizza topping that is perfect for vegans. Just slice or dice the avocado and add it to your pizza. You can also add avocado to a side salad or use it as a dipping sauce for the pizza crust.
Green peppers are a classic pizza topping that is both vegan and gluten-free. They can be sliced, diced, or whole and can be cooked in many different ways.
I like to precook peppers as I find them a bit hard if you do put them straight onto the pizza. You can also get a nice chargrilled flavor if you pre-cook them.
There are two ways that you can have cauliflower with your pizza. You could replace the dough and make a cauliflower base. Alternately you can use it as a topping, which can add a nice flavor to any pizza.
Broccoli is another classic pizza topping that is both vegan and gluten-free. Broccoli is perfect with other vegetables and adds a whole new texture.
Just like with the green peppers, I prefer to pre-cook broccoli before adding it to my pizza. This helps to soften it up a bit.
Chickpeas are a great pizza topping for vegans. They are high in protein and fiber and add a nice texture to the pizza. Just add them whole or mashed to your pizza. You could also try roasting them before adding to the pizza for a bit of extra flavor.
Pineapple is a controversial pizza topping, but I think it’s delicious. It’s sweet and juicy and goes well with other toppings. For example it goes very well with mushroom.
Just make sure to drain the pineapple before adding it to the pizza so it doesn’t make the dough soggy.
Black olives are great on pizza and are also very healthy. They are high in antioxidants and have a unique flavor that goes well with many other toppings.
Vegan Pizza Delivery Bases
Is pizza dough vegan when it comes delivered from your favorite pizza brands?
I wanted to go through the ingredients list of some of the most well-known pizza chains. Having a look to see if their bases are vegan or not.
Non-Vegan Ingredients In Pizza Dough
First of all, its important to know what ingredients come in pizza dough that are non-vegan.
You should also check for these ingredients on labels, if your buying store bought dough.
Whey is common in pizza dough and since its a by product of cheese, its not suitable for vegans.
Sugar is often used to help give the pizza dough some extra sweetness and help it rise. In the United States bone char is often used in white sugar. This causes it to be non vegan friendly.
Not a very common ingredient, although is sometimes substituted for sugar.
So, lets check out the pizza chains and see if they have any vegan pizza dough.
Dominos has 8 different pizza doughs, only 2 of these are vegan friendly. This is because all of the others do contain milk.
The vegan friendly pizza dough’s are’
- Vegan Classic Crust
- Vegan Italian Style
Papa John’s are a good choice for vegans, as they do have the option for all of their pizza doughs to be vegan friendly.
They simply produce these doughs without milk.
Pizza Hut do have a large vegan friendly menu. In terms of pizza dough, they’ve got 5 that are vegan. One of which is a stuff-crust, if your looking for a little different in texture.
There you have it, I hope its answered the question “is pizza dough vegan“
In most cases traditional pizza dough is vegan friendly, since it only contains 4 ingredients.
So, if you’re vegan and love pizza – don’t worry! You can still enjoy your favourite food. There are plenty of vegan friendly options at all the major pizza chains, as well as independent pizzerias.
If you’re feeling creative, you can even make your own vegan pizza at home.
Just be sure to stock up on some delicious toppings like roasted vegetables, fruit and hummus, or plant-based meats.